2018 Shortlisted Artists Announced

Rewarding excellence and originality in contemporary watercolour painting
18 – 23 September 2018, Mall Galleries, London

Paul Regan, ‘Edge of London: Dancers Lane VII’ (2018)

Now in its 31st year, The Sunday Times Watercolour Competition is the largest and most prestigious prize for contemporary watercolour painting in the UK. Whether it be through abstract or figurative, contemporary or traditional, the competition aims to celebrate and redefine the beauty and diversity of watercolour and water-based media.

Eighty works have been selected from a total of 1,304 submissions by a panel of leading figures from the art world. The 2018 judging panel includes Ishbel Myerscough, artist; Paul Newland, artist; Jennifer Scott, Sackler Director at Dulwich Picture Gallery; James Stewart, Director of Zimmer Stewart Gallery, and Louis Wise, critic and writer for The Sunday Times. The Winners will be announced in the Culture section of The Sunday Times in August.

The seventy-five shortlisted artists are as follows:

Jacqueline Abel

John Abell

Roger Allen

Ashley Amery

Bob Armstrong

Sue Atkinson

Julie Barnes

Greg Becker

Varsha Bhatia

Akash Bhatt

Day Bowman

Victoria Braithwaite

Julian Bray

David Brayne

Claire Brewster

Susan Brown

Michael Chance

Sophie Charalambous

Lottie Cole

Adrian Coleman

Julie D Cooper

Janet Darley

Catharine Davison

Adam De Ville

Richard Elliott

Mark Entwisle

Suzy Fasht

James Faure Walker

Bobbye Fermie

Laura Footes

Richard Fowler

Michael Gage

Lavinia Gallie

Nikki Gardham

George Gilbert

Alexander Gilmour

Jenny Graham

Jelly Green

Imogen Guy

Henry Hagger

David Hamilton

Esther Jeanes

Eliza John

Henry Jones

Suman Kaur

Caroline Kent

Zoe Laughlin

Frank Laws

Debbie Lee

Clio Lloyd-Jacob

Peter Lloyd-Jones

Tom Mabon

Russell Macaulay

Anne Magill

Michael Middleton

David Nealon

J. A. Nicholls

David A Parfitt RI

Brian Parker

Robin Pearce

Paul Regan

Jon Rogers

Zoe Savory

Sarah Seymour

Jayne Stokes

Jan Symes

Eleanor Taylor

Rebecca Truscott-Elves

Philip Tyler

Jenny Wheatley

Nigel Whittaker

Michael Williams

Roy Willingham

Gertie Young

Martha Zmpounou

The shortlisted works will be shown at:
Mall Galleries, The Mall, London SW1: 18 – 23 September 2018
Guildford House Gallery, Surrey: 10 November – 20 December 2018
The Sainsbury Gallery, Willis Museum, Basingstoke: 12 Jan – 27 March 2019

Join the conversation…

Twitter: @STWatercolour; @ParkerHarrisCo
Facebook: @SundayTimesWatercolour; @ParkerHarrisCo
Hashtag: #STWC18

No items found.